RAM Compatibility (N00B Question) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2005, 10:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

You can still get the 2 1gb sticks of PC3200 it just means they will run at PC2700 speeds
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

and if you know what your doing, you can squeeze some extra performance out of the ram that is getting unclocked by tightening the timing.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

bah, I told already told him PC3200 would work, he didn't listen, bought worse RAM for probably more money. Oh well...
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.