RAM Compatibility (N00B Question) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default RAM Compatibility (N00B Question)

Hi guys long time no post for me

Well I've been thinking whether or not I should upgrade my RAM from 256mb to something bigger. 512mb would be nice, but I would really like even more. I'm wondering that if I get a 512mb stick will it be compatible with my 256mb stick currently in my PC and work 100% fine.

Sorry this is such a n00b question, but I want to be 100% sure before I go out and buy anything

Cheers
__________________

monaro_man_91 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 12:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

You have to know how many pins that other piece of ram is. I am not quite positive what kind of RAM you have so that is my best advice. Once you find out how many pins tha 256mb ram is then you just look for RAM that has that many pins
__________________

__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

Oh ok well the 256MB stick is DDR2700 333mHz and same with the 512MB stick I'm looking to buy. Hope that tells you about the pins :S
monaro_man_91 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

It's all 184 pin DDR RAM, so it would be no problem putting that 512 stick in there. Also, on a side note, DDR400 RAM will work just fine as well, it will just be underclocked to your DDR333 speeds. The only reason I say this, is a lot of times DDR400 will actually be cheaper than the slower stuff just because it is the most common.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

im pretty sure that is a 184 pin setup...and yes if the other one is the same then it should work
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 12:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

Cool, thank you, I'll go for the 512MB stick and then I'll have 768MB

And with the DDR400 RAM I'm not sure that my motherboard supports that.
monaro_man_91 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

If you want more though, ditch (sell?) the 256 stick and go for 2x 512. Then you have 1 gig of ram, esp. if your motherboard suppoarts dual channeling
Camden is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

Well I've decided to get the 1bg of RAM.

Just wondering, will PC3200 400mhz RAM work on my motherboard which is an Abit VA-10. Hope it does, so then I will get two sticks of 1gb for 2gbs of RAM!
monaro_man_91 is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 01:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by monaro_man_91

Just wondering, will PC3200 400mhz RAM work on my motherboard which is an Abit VA-10. Hope it does, so then I will get two sticks of 1gb for 2gbs of RAM!
I'd look it up, but I couldn't find a abit va-10 mobo online anywhere ~_~
Camden is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 02:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

Yeh I just found out that it doesn't support PC3200 RAM, so I went and bought myself two sticks of 512mb PC2700 RAM for Christmas. Thanks for the help guys.
__________________

monaro_man_91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.