RAM compability - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2007, 06:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default RAM compability

Hi,
i have a quick question concerning ram upgrading. I have given so many controversial answers about this topic so i thought to ask from you guys.

Basically i have 512MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (200 MHz)
Everest tells this about RAM (it's basically also included in motherboard info):LINK

I'm not sure about my board. It's chaintech, but is it K8T800 or SK8T800 or something else i can't figure out.
And this is the motherboard info provided by everest: LINK

I am hoping to upgrade my system to 2GB of ram. Will i be able to use those cheaper high density rams or what kind of ram should i get? I was looking for these, but discovered they are not compatible with all motherboards.

Edit: ok, i t h i n k i have Chaintech SK8T800 VIA K8T800 chipset based motherboard. But what does it mean? Is it SK8T800 or K8T800.
That ebay page i gave say those rams are known to work with VIA K8T800 and K8T800 .
__________________

layr89 is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: RAM compability

I don't see why those ram you linked wouldn't work


Athlon64 Motherboard

Chaintech

northbridge is VIA K8T800Pro chipset
board model name is SK8T800

from what I can tell there shouldn't be a problem

source:
VIA K8T800 Motherboard Partners - VIA Technologies, Inc.

edit: welcome to tech forums btw
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: RAM compability

Thanks for the welcome

So you are quite sure that it will work? I'm really confused:P Some say it will, others say it is not compatible. What's the main difference between high and low density rams anyway?

Merry Christmas!
layr89 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: RAM compability

I won't guarantee it will work as more recent boards also have compatibly issues with different RAMs

You also E-mail the seller to check with the compatibly-ness(?)

Density?

Quotes of IceBlade008
Quote:
If your system is designed for accepting DDR (Double Data Rate) memories of 184pin DIMM (usually desktops) or 200pin SODIMM (usually laptops) built, for your system to fully recognise 1GB capacity per memory slot, you need to use 'Low Density - 64Mx8 config' 1GB module. If you use 'High-Density - 128Mx4 config' 1GB module, your PC may only recognise it as HALF the size at 512MB or most of the time it will not work.
* All low density 1GB modules are made with 16 chips (8 chips on each side) using 64Mx8 device.
* All high density 1GB modules are made with 16 chips (8 chips on each side) using 128Mx4 device.
Quote:
high density 1GB modules are mainly manufacturing process rejects/seconds that cannot be made as a low density modules. It is very much like Intel CPU, those CPU that cannot be made as Pentium 4 CPU become a slower bus Celeron CPU instead, by a down-binning process.
Quote:
* LOW DENSITY modules have 100% compatibility with ALL systems and ALL chipsets.
* HIGH DENSITY modules only have 10% compatibility and are VERY SLOW.
Source:Info: What is the Difference Between Low Density and High Density RAM? - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

Edit: Happy Holidays to you too

and everyone else
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: RAM compability

Thanks a lot, mate. Really interesting facts about high density memories. Think i'll take a short shot and buy low density rams instead. If you give me a green light, i'll buy two of these 1gb samsung rams:
layr89 is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: RAM compability

Hi,

those looks good to me
however, I cannot guarantee they will work. as even modern ddr2 memory have compatibility issues with modern motherboards
but I believe you will have VERY HIGH success rate

that aside, make sure you discharge yourself before handling those memory modules, and make sure you UNPLUG(not just turning it off) your computer before installing them.

Avoid static-causing surfaces such as carpeted floors, plastic, and packing foam

*discharging - Touch a bare metal surface of the computer case.

bye
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: RAM compability

Thanks for warning, but i have already experienced the power of static with one other ram in the past. When dealing with hardware, i usually hold onto the heater with one hand :P
__________________

layr89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
ram? david15549 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-24-2007 11:55 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.