RAM Channels and SPEED - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 08:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default RAM Channels and SPEED

Quick question:
Is it better to go with:
Corsiar DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
or
Corsiar DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) Dual Chanel?

The price is the same.

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

What are the latencies? (5-5-5-12 as an example)
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

4-4-4-12 and 5-5-5-15

did i get it right?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! ?!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 11:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Remember that RAM itself is NOT dual channel. Motherboards and chipsets support RAM running in dual channel mode. Read more in my guide on RAM:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=65757

If RAM is being marketed as dual channel, then it just means that you get a matching pair of sticks.

To give a better and more complete answer you are going to list off what your CPU and mobo are
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 01:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

go with the ddr 533. faster ram.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 08:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
go with the ddr 533. faster ram.
How do you figure that 533 is faster than 667?
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 08:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if those latencies are correct then the DDR2-667 is far better. mind expanding on what you are purchasing and what it is for
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 10:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Theorectically they are the same speed but in real life the DDR667 will come out a little faster.
turtile is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 12:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Im not sure what the stock latencys are..

Elbatrop1 -

The motherboard is the Asus M2R32-MVP Deluxe. Its basically the A8R32-MVP but socket AM2. (thus CrossFire 3200 RD580)

Proc will be the AMD Athlon62 AM2 X2 3800+

I hope that helps a bit.



I guess if dual channel isint really a feature built into the RAM, I might as well get the 2 sticks of 667, since theyre packaged together from Corsiar....

so now heres the choice:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145568

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRa...82E16820231050
(some dude was saying this is really 533???)
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 06:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to The Kid Send a message via Yahoo to The Kid
Default

what do latencies mean? The higher the number, the better? Or you just gotta match them if puting in multiple sticks?
__________________

__________________
Some say windows plays a demonic message when played backwards, but thats not the worst of it, play it forward, and it installs Windows.
The Kid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.