RAM Brands...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2007, 10:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default RAM Brands...?

I am in need of new RAM... Badly.

I think I realized this when I started playing BF2 last week. The loading times are ridiculous...

So, if I'm going to upgrade my ram, I might as well go all the way and get 2GB of DDR400.

I'm never going to be overclocking... So I've seen some ridiculously cheap RAM... 2GB for $130 bucks Canadian. It's Samsung memory... And keep in mind, it's unregistered, so it WILL work with my motherboard.

I've never heard any word on Samsung memory, I'm assuming it's considerably ulta-low-end RAM. But as I said, I won't be overclocking it, it'll only ever have to run on stock settings, and it HAS to be a huge upgrade from 512 DDR266.

Anyone think it's a bad idea?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 10:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

I'm not sure on Samsung's reputation on memory, but they make great LCD monitors...heh. Good cheap brands of ram are companies like Corsair Value, G. Skill Value, or Patriot.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 05:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 268
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

i thought gskill and corsair were high-end rams
__________________
Intel Q9550
Gigabyte P45T - USB3P
evga 8800GTS 512MB
evga 8800GTS 512MB
Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 2x2GB
Razer Baraccuda AC-1 Sound card
Western Digital 320GB SATA
Caviar Black 1TB
Samsung 12xDVD-RAM (x2)
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Logitech G9x Mice
Logitech Z-5500 Speakers
Samsung 22" monitor
Samsung 19" monitor
Antec twelve hundred
joowan is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 01:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

G.skill is friggin' awesome.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 05:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joowan View Post
i thought gskill and corsair were high-end rams
Alot of companies have ram for high end and low end companies. That's why I said G. Skill VALUE.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 01:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

OCZ is a good brand too. and they are cheap.
lalala123 is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 06:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

OCZ is not cheap.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldIndustries View Post
OCZ is not cheap.
I got a 1gb stick from newegg a wile back for about 85USD with out shipping.
lalala123 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 01:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

Samsung is the world's biggest RAM and Flash Memory manufacturer. I wouldn't be surprised if all those brands (G.skill, OCZ, Corsair, etc) all used Samsung chips.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 02:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: RAM Brands...?

Cool. I guess I'm getting some then. 2GB for 150 CDN is very, VERY cheap.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.