Ram for ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2011, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central IL
Posts: 12
Default Ram for ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

Hello, I'm buying a ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 mobo and was planning on only sticking 2 4gb sticks of ram in it for now and maybe adding another 2 later.

Now I'm thinking I'll see if I can spend an extra $50 bucks or so and I might try to get two 4gb sticks so I won't need to upgrade for a long time, and also when I do I can add two more 4 gb sticks and max out the mobo....

They problem I'm having is that ASUS only lists like 2 different 4gb sticks of ram for this board under they recomendations.

Does anyone have experience with this board and certain 8gb sticks that will work with it with no problems???

Thanks for the help!!!

zbhover is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
Night Fox's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Ram for ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

Newegg.com - ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

I believe the above link is your motherboard (Same name)

Any memory with 240 pins and a speed of DDR3 1333 or 1066 will work fine.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL

Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central IL
Posts: 12
Default Re: Ram for ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

Yep thats the mobo, but I've been reading reviews for the board and have seen several people say that they've got 1333 ddr3 ram that wasn't on the QVL and it didn't work. I was just wondering if anyone with one of these mobo's have tried other 4gb rams besides KINGSTON KVR1333D3E9S/4G, KINGSTON KVR1333D3N9/4G, and SAMSUNG M378B5273BH1-CH9. Or does anyone have any good experiance with any of these.

Newegg has the two kingston rams but not the samsung:
Newegg.com - Kingston ValueRAM 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1333 Server Memory Model KVR1333D3E9S/4G

Newegg.com - Kingston 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model KVR1333D3N9/4G

Thanks again for all the help!!!
zbhover is offline  
Old 01-15-2011, 01:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: Ram for ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

I am running a set of G.Skill 1600 in my board (ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO). It's not on the memory list and is faster than the board natively runs, but it is chugging along just fine.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-4GBRM

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-15-2011, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
Muffin Man's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: Ram for ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

there are too many different sets of ram out there for the manufacturer to test each one, and list it on the qvl. as long as you pick a set that's atleast within the mobo's spec, there's a good chance it'll work fine. but yes there are always a couple duds that will pop up somewhere.
Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE H55M-USB3 Motherboard Osiris New Technology and Products 0 05-03-2010 02:34 PM
ASUS M4A89GTD board -=CES=- Antec-User New Technology and Products 4 02-15-2010 06:18 PM
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 and "Superspeed" USB3 Osiris New Technology and Products 1 12-09-2009 01:42 PM
USB3/SATA6 Question re:motherboards Xenofix New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-18-2009 07:41 PM
Failed bios flashing, dang ASUS! What other mobo you guys recommend? Not Asus Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 11-28-2007 02:11 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.