Which RAM, 3x512mb or 1x1gb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2005, 11:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default Which RAM, 3x512mb or 1x1gb

Building a system with:

-Asus K8V SE Deluxe VIA Socket 754 ATX Motherboard / AGP 8X / Audio / Gigabit LAN / S/PDIF / USB 2.0 & Firewire / Serial ATA
-AMD Athlon 64 3700+ / 1MB Cache / 1600MHz FSB / ClawHammer Core / Socket 754 / Processor

Wondering if it would be better to get 3x512mb of Ultra 512MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz CL3 Memory (cause its cheap $37cdn each) or if I should go with a 1gb stick of something else? Any performance issues of having 3x512 vs 1x1gb or anything I should know before going through with this (this is my first build so bear with me).

Upgrading of the system is very unlikely and will be used for internet/music/word processing mainly with a bit of light gaming (looking at a 6600 vid card)


philmeup is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563

Well 3x512 would be 1.5Ghz, and I'm pretty sure you can use duel channel with the 512mb's. So I'd say go with the
3x512 sticks.
Also, about the video card, seriously go for the 6600GT. I had a 6600 and returned it, simply because the 6600GT is about 20-40$ more and has benchmarks that are twice as good.
Remember that your motherboard is apg 8x, so you'll need to get an agp compliant video card.

edit: But, if you're hoping to upgrade to 4Gigs (which I doubt you will, but just in case) you wouldn't be able to with the 512mb's of ram.

PcMe is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker

Neither 3 x 512MB nor 1 x 1GB will run in Dual Channel.

And for God's sakes...its Dual Channel, not Duel Channel...
Flanker is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

s754 doesnt support dual channel

get 3*512 garsh
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot

A word of warning... read the reviews about Ultra RAM. It isn't the best out there.
pcrobot is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563

and I'm pretty sure
As I said, I wasn't sure.
And wow, a typo, it's the apocalypse! Why does everything start into a flame or put down in this forum? There will be someone new to computers that says he wants an intel, and all the amd fanboys will be like 'pREPARE TO GET FLAMMERED AND YOU ARE DUMB AND GET OFF THIS FORUM OK'

PcMe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.