RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2013, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
spacecadet11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 194
Smile RAM

Hello. When you buy RAM I think depending on the size..a different MHz speed is usually indicated.

When buying RAM..do you have to make sure that the speed of the ram you buy absolutely has to match with the ram you might already have?

Thanks for your response
Bye
SC
__________________

spacecadet11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecadet11 View Post
Hello. When you buy RAM I think depending on the size..a different MHz speed is usually indicated.

When buying RAM..do you have to make sure that the speed of the ram you buy absolutely has to match with the ram you might already have?

Thanks for your response
Bye
SC
It depends on what speed your motherboard can handle. If you don't know what speed it can handle, getting the same speed as what you currently have is the safest bet. The speed of the RAM module has nothing to do with the GB size.
For example:
You could have a 2GB PC3-12800 stick, which is rated at 1600MHz.

You could also have a 4GB PC2-5300 stick rated at only 667MHz.
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: RAM

Are you building a new system or upgrading an existing one? if you are upgrading what are you current specs and we can help you find the best ram for your needs.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA-Canada
Posts: 18
Default Re: RAM

If he's using the LENOVO spec's that you'd found, I think that was, uh, DDR2-4200. So maybe 2Gb per stick is his max, and the motherboard probably max's out at 4Gb total allowed, too. The Lenovo site can be more specific.

This is one of those scenarios where "buy local so exchanges can be easily made" might be the best counseling. The hard drives, no - I'd buy those on price-alone, but RAM might be tricky IF available. I tried to find DDR2-6400 from a local Fry's and was stuck with one brand ("and we've only got 4 sticks left..."). Git 'em while they're hot! Git yer hotdogs! Git yer hotdogs...
ChristineBCW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.