RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2011, 10:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 169
Default RAM

Do the m8125x and the a6650f have the same ram types. I wanna transfer from one to the other.
__________________

Extreme112 is offline  
Old 02-03-2011, 12:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: RAM

Both of those systems use ddr2 memory, so it should be compatible with each other.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 02-03-2011, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 169
Default Re: RAM

OK Thanks a lot.
Extreme112 is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 169
Default Re: RAM

Hold on though. Isnt there other things to consider like
Dual channel memory architecture
Four 240-pin DDR2 DIMM sockets
Supported DIMM types:
PC2-5300 (667 MHz)
PC2-6400 (800 MHz)
Non-ECC memory only, unbuffered
supports 2GB DDR2 DIMMs
Supports up to 8 GB on 64 bit PCs
Supports up to 4 GB* on 32 bit PCs
32 bit PCs cannot address a full 4.0 GB of memory.

Well I just copied this from The a6650f's specs but point being what else should I consider? And are you sure it will fit.
Extreme112 is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 11:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: RAM

The only real big thing to consider is if you have an OS that is either 32bit or 64bit. Since if you have only 32bit, there's no point on installing any more than 4GB of ram, since it won't detect the rest.

You might want to consider if you want the computer running in dual channel mode or not, having either 2 or 4 memory slots used with similar memory type will let you run in dual channel. I would say that running in dual channel is maybe 3~5% faster than single channel.

I'm 100% sure that it will fit in both two computers, maybe 99.9% sure that it will work, however there is always that slight chance of incomptability.
brinks is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 07:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 169
Default Re: RAM

Great Thanks.
__________________

Extreme112 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.