RAID questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default RAID questions

Hi everybody!! I was wondering if you are able to RAID together 2 different types of hdd's. Like for example, I have a 7200rpm 200gig hdd. Now could i setup a RAID that went with a Raptor 10000rpm 150gig hdd shown here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136012

Or do i have to get two of the same ones?
Thank you in advance for your help.
__________________

mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

sry for double post...i hit the back button too many times...sry again
__________________

mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to kirkmears Send a message via Yahoo to kirkmears
Default

you can, but it's not recommended.

you will only be able to RAID 150GB of the 200GB drive.
__________________
PW5 64, E6300@2.8, X1900XT, (5) 74GB RAPTORs, 2GB Corsair XMS800, ATI HDTV Wonder, DELL 30\"
kirkmears is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

is that the only draw back...losing 50 gigs? or will it be slower?
mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

You can RAID 2 HDS of different speed, but it will slow you down compared to 2 HDs of same speed.

You dont lose 50 gigs. All you lose is speed.
__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MysticRose
You can RAID 2 HDS of different speed, but it will slow you down compared to 2 HDs of same speed.

You dont lose 50 gigs. All you lose is speed.
In RAID 1 You would only be able to Use 150 GB out of the 200, since the smallest Drive sets the Size you can use. So you kinda do lose 50 GB....

If in RAID 0, the Drive will show up as one 350 GB Drive in windows.
If in RAID 1, the Drive will show up as one 150 GB Drive in Windows.

mastercheif1231:

Heres a Good Guide to RAID
Ste is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to kirkmears Send a message via Yahoo to kirkmears
Default

...if you loose 50GB of RAID'ed storage....you can repartition that 50GB for something else
__________________

__________________
PW5 64, E6300@2.8, X1900XT, (5) 74GB RAPTORs, 2GB Corsair XMS800, ATI HDTV Wonder, DELL 30\"
kirkmears is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.