raid and bios? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 03:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dorset Uk
Posts: 347
Default raid and bios?

what is raid and bios
i know bios is how to setup your pc
but what is it excactly
i dont know anything about raid so please explain
__________________

rebell07 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dorset Uk
Posts: 347
Default Re: raid and bios?

any help?
__________________

rebell07 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: raid and bios?

BIOS: Change system settings such as: the time, boot devices, you can overclock your CPU from the BIOS and setup a raid configuration and lots more i cant remember

RAID: When data is distriuted between multiple disks making backups and storing files very quick
Nick is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dorset Uk
Posts: 347
Default Re: raid and bios?

so raid
rebell07 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dorset Uk
Posts: 347
Default Re: raid and bios?

so raid is when you have multiple hdds
and bios is basiccly a control panel for the pc
is that right?
rebell07 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: raid and bios?

No, RAID is just to make the data save/search speed quicker. It's like having a 10k RPM Raptor working at 15k RPM. Anyways, when you post something be patient.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: raid and bios?

RAID is having a multiple HD array, in either striped (acts as one logical HD) or mirror (one HD makes a back up of the other) arrays. Well there are many other versions but they are the most common.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: raid and bios?

Redundant Array of Independent (or Inexpensive) Disks. A collection of 2 or more disks that work together to increase performance and safety. The disks form one logical storage unit. The most used RAID levels are: RAID 0: striping only, RAID 1: mirroring only, RAID 5: striping with error correction information on all disks.

the BIOS is simply as you put it "a control panel for the system" but the options can be way more advanced then what the control panel options are
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asus p5k and raid 0 veedubfreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-24-2007 03:33 PM
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM
Where to go next? (upgrading advice) ril New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-12-2007 04:16 PM
Bad RAID driver on Abit AW9D-Max tlharrell New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-21-2007 08:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.