Raid - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Angry Raid

I thought I understood Raid and was about to set up my new build with 2 500gb in Raid 0 and a 320 gb. but I was just fliking through links and found out about a whole new set of raid levels e.g. Raid 7. Ive got 3 hardrives and my case can hold 4 I may buy an extra hdd if needed as the money doesnt matter. What would be the best Raid level for me? Ive got an E6600 and an evga 680i with 2gb of ram, the comp is going to be used for gaming and minor video editing there will also be an intranet server (internal website for a Lan network) which is too provide quick and proficient Media sharing with films, programs, music, pictures. I' plannning to upgrade the os to windows vista ultimate once the bugs are fixed. thanks for any insight as im lost lol

Matt
__________________

saltynay is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

I would still say Raid 0 would be your best bet. For video editing and what not that would be super fast. You don't need extreme data redundancy (that provided with RAID 5 and such). Plus the cost savings of Raid 0 versus the others outweigh the benefits of a larger Raid scheme in my opinion.
__________________

bigstanklo is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

Would You recommend a raid array involving all hdd's or keeping the 1tb as Raid 0 and having an extra 320gb for personal use i.e. operating system and general files even though the 320 would be slower.

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Just do Raid 0 with your 2(500GB), and leave the 320 seperate.
brinks is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default

it's hard to say what RAID level is best for you. Do you want data redundancy. All Raid 0 will do is make multiple drives look like one drive. In other words it will write data to both drives sequetially. The other RAID levels are all about keeping a constant backup some levels include parity checking etc. You probably just want RAID 0 you can always back up on a external HD. BTW raid 0 is not faster than a single HD.
__________________
I need a new computer
ElBurro is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 07:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

Raid 0 has faster read times slower write times but the differences are negligible. I dont really need data protection as I can probably regain lost data from individually asking clients Matt
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.