RAID 0 SSD without TRIM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2012, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default RAID 0 SSD without TRIM

I want to get 2 120(8)gb SSD's to put in my G75. RAID 0, of course. Problem is the chipset (HM77) doesn't support TRIM for RAID 0. So I've done some digging through the internet and found this article, which was the one that told me my chipset doesn't have trim. So from that article I found this one. From there I found this. So what I'm wondering, is the background garbage collection good enough? Or do I NEED TRIM.

Also, looking at a pair of these.
__________________

__________________
tj_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: RAID 0 SSD without TRIM

I don't really see the need when one SSD is already quick enough.

As it stands, TRIM really isn't needed that much. When I think SSD, Plextor isn't one of the brands that comes to mind either lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: RAID 0 SSD without TRIM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I don't really see the need when one SSD is already quick enough.

As it stands, TRIM really isn't needed that much. When I think SSD, Plextor isn't one of the brands that comes to mind either lol.
I have two bays and just really want to have RAID No real reason I suppose. If I go for a hard drive for the second bay I'd go for a 2tb, which is actually more expensive than any of the SSD's I've looked at. Plus I have a 2tb passport that I keep most of my stuff on, so why not just get two SSD's?

Wasn't sure about TRIM. I just saw a lot of people saying how important it was, but I wanted some opinions here before I made my decision.

Plextor isn't my first choice either, but that model has gotten some great reviews.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: RAID 0 SSD without TRIM

I'm gonna go on a limb here and say somebody like you really doesn't need to worry about it. TRIM is there to maximize the life but I honestly haven't seen anything to really prove it as SSDs IMO haven't been around long enough to do longevity tests.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.