Quick a UPS. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2011, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Default Quick a UPS.

I recently got an Ultra UPS but it says its a 600W max supported. My power supply is a 750W. I want to know if the UPS can support the power supply, or how to measure how much watts my power supply is pulling. I got it for free so I don't mind if it works or not.

My UPS---http://http://www.ultraproducts.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=770423&Sku=ULT31502

My PSU---http://http://www.ultraproducts.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3276567&Sku=ULT-LSP750
__________________

Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 09:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Quick a UPS.

the UPS is 600 watt which is what kicks in when power goes out. it'll work fine but when power goes out if you're running your pc tha's using 600+ watts you'll have a problem.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Quick a UPS.

Personally, I would try it. Just make sure you do not have any unsaved work. And pull the UPS plug and see if it will sustain your computer. And if that works, try it while running a graphics intensive game or something......
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 10:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Quick a UPS.

You are nowhere near the 700W with your rig... my q6600 and sli 260s drew 520W toped out.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Quick a UPS.

Mario, save a little and look here:
Newegg.com - Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.3 / EPS12V V2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply

Newegg.com - DirectUPS DP1000 1000VA 600 Watts 4 Outlets UPS

Combined them both and you should save 49.00 if your spending less than 200.00 bucks and you will get ups 3 day select on both items because the items cost over 50.00 dollars.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Quick a UPS.

as the OP stated, he bought the PSU already and the UPS was free.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 04:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Quick a UPS.

Didn't know till now pete, my mistake.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick RAM Help :) Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-09-2008 01:14 AM
Quick Fix?? Avalanch3 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-01-2007 12:35 PM
quick, quick question talldude123 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 05-20-2006 09:45 PM
Quick I Need Help! john3 Off Topic Discussion 9 05-14-2006 11:51 PM
Just a quick 'Hi'!!!! MistyMina New Member Introductions 6 09-18-2004 06:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.