Quick RAM question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2009, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Quick RAM question

Hey, I got 4GB of RAM, just wondering if I should chuck it in there with my current 2GB; having only a 32-bit system, other than not seeing all the RAM, will there be any negative effects of having 6GB in there?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Quick RAM question

no. but there wont be any positive effects, either. id just put the 4gb in there by itself.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Quick RAM question

Well I'm using 64-bit Ubuntu, so I'll leave it in for that. Not that I could ever sensibly use that much in Ubuntu :P

Edit: Also outta curiosity what's your avatar from?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: Quick RAM question

One negative effect would be more electicitah useage. No positive effect , though.

I recognize Dave Chappel there. I'm Rick James , biotch!!
newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Quick RAM question

Unless the timings are the same I wouldn't risk putting mixed ram in together
__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Quick RAM question

lol yes my avatar is dave chappelle advertising "samuel jackson beer". hilarious:
Samuel L. Jackson Beer | Chappelle's Show | Comedy Central
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Quick RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by stb1swat View Post
Unless the timings are the same I wouldn't risk putting mixed ram in together
Well it's both Corsair RAM, timings are different tho :cyclopes: I guess I'll probably just put the 4GB in and drop the 2GB I have already into my mum's machine.

Edit: By timings do you mean like 4-4-4-12, or 800Mhz? I'm assuming the former. Cos the former are different, but the latter are the same.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Quick RAM question

4-4-4-12 would be the timings.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 02:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Quick RAM question

there's no problem running ram with different timings. say one set has 4-4-4-12 @ 800mhz and one set has 5-5-5-15 @ 800mhz, you can (probably....depends on your mobo) adjust the 4 timings up to 5 timings and they will be fine. you will lose a little speed, but you aint gonna notice that. or you can leave the slow (5 timings) ram out and just use the fast (4 timings). or you can take out the fast and use the slow lol its up to you. but its is definitely possible and not a big deal to use ram with different timings.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 03:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Quick RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagasama View Post
lol yes my avatar is dave chappelle advertising "samuel jackson beer". hilarious:
Samuel L. Jackson Beer | Chappelle's Show | Comedy Central

That is good stuff!
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Ram Question Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 10 01-06-2009 06:24 PM
Ram question... kershner New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-06-2009 12:56 PM
RAM Question!!! tariqadkhan Laptops and Notebooks 6 01-07-2008 09:22 AM
RAM Question Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-02-2007 05:21 AM
RAM testing question jfenwick System Upgrades 12 10-20-2007 04:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.