Quick question on molex to 6pin - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2012, 07:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Default Quick question on molex to 6pin

Do I need to connect up both 4 pin adapters or only one?
And does it matter which?
__________________

ChosterF is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Quick question on molex to 6pin

Can you rephrase your question so that we know what your talking about.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 79
Default Re: Quick question on molex to 6pin

if i understand it right he's asking about a adapter for a video card 2 molex to pcie and if he can use just 1 molex for it
Ecthelion is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 09:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Default Re: Quick question on molex to 6pin

sorry, i thought there was only one.

http://gmstore.project.creativearm.c...4pinto6pin.jpg

i don't know the technical names for it but it's for a new graphics card.
ChosterF is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Quick question on molex to 6pin

Then, no, you have to connect both Molex cables.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Default Re: Quick question on molex to 6pin

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Then, no, you have to connect both Molex cables.
ah,thanks a lot.

i tried posting a picture of what i was talking about but messages with links are moderated

i don't know what the technical names are but it's 2 female 4pins (i'm guessing it's a molex?) and one male 6 pin.

If only one needs to be connected, what's the point in having the other?
ChosterF is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Quick question on molex to 6pin

One molex can't carry the power you need for a PCI-E plug.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Default Re: Quick question on molex to 6pin

Oh, i read that wrong. something is not right with me today.

thanks for the help
__________________

ChosterF is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 pin molex and fan controller question gordonie Overclocking and Modding 4 12-15-2011 07:33 PM
Quick RAM question and mobo question LFCJohnSmith System Upgrades 3 03-05-2010 02:28 PM
6pin 12v to 4pin 12v Converter? Poemaster New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-04-2007 06:59 PM
quick, quick question talldude123 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 05-20-2006 09:45 PM
Need help again - where to connect 6pin PCI-E connector? diabloII Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 03-05-2005 12:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.