Quick question on Gigabyte motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2006, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124
Default Quick question on Gigabyte motherboard

Just need a quick pointer to a recent motherboard. My current one is a Gigabyte 8I915P Duo Pro. Apparently it's now a bit out of date, so I need a recent equivalent. Doesn't need anything new, though preferably still have all the old one did. All I actually use that I can think of is 2 DDR ram slots and a PCIx16 for my Geforce 7600GT. I also have a pentium 4 3.0ghz if that helps. Also I'm looking for something under $200 AUD, which is about $150 USD.

706 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246

What exctly do you mean by "recent"? Motherboards themselves don't really go out of date, just their interfaces. If it utilizes DDR2 and PCI-E, and you're happy with the chipset, there's no point in getting a new one...

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 08:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124

Well I was told by a guy (that was trying to screw me) that they're out of date, I got it 18 months ago, so I decided to check my usual computer dealer. Mind you they do suck and I would have gone elsewhere if somewhere was open on a sunday. Anyway, they didn't have any of my mother board in stock, they only had one that was the same but only duo, not duo pro. They didn't intend on getting anymore, so I assumed the thing had become outdated.
706 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 09:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Mjmitch2's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152

There is no reason not to keep that board, its not faulty is it?? It supports DDR2 and is PCIEx16.
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124

Well the current one I have I believe is faulty, so I'll prob have to replace it. I was just wondering what I should replace it with. But if its still fine then I'll look around a bit and find somewhere I can get the same one.
706 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.