Quick Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2013, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
rhu1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 521
Default Quick Question

This seems like a really good price to me. Am I missing something or is this for real? I like Samsung, I like the size and I've never seen one this cheap before. Is there some catch with the product description that I am missing? Thanks for the feedback and responses.

Amazon.com: Samsung Electronics 840 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Single Unit Version Internal Solid State Drive MZ-7TE250BW: Computers & Accessories
__________________

__________________
i5-4430 4GB EVGA GTX970 Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600
SeaSonic M12II 620W ASRock B85M-HDS
rhu1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Quick Question

The 120s were 85 not too long ago. It's Cyber Monday and that's a damn good deal for a real good SSD.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
rhu1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 521
Default Re: Quick Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
The 120s were 85 not too long ago. It's Cyber Monday and that's a damn good deal for a real good SSD.
I thought so. Thanks for the response. I just need to get the SATA cable and the power cable since it doesn't come with them, correct? From what I have been reading all SATA 3.0 cables function the same. True?
__________________
i5-4430 4GB EVGA GTX970 Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600
SeaSonic M12II 620W ASRock B85M-HDS
rhu1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Quick Question

If it's the boxed one it might come with a SATA cable. Otherwise your motherboard box comes with those.

Yes all SATA cables are the same. Power cable comes from your PSU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
rhu1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 521
Default Re: Quick Question

Is there a guide on here somewhere for cloning a drive? From what I gather it is really easy, but I would like to read a little more on it.
__________________
i5-4430 4GB EVGA GTX970 Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600
SeaSonic M12II 620W ASRock B85M-HDS
rhu1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 12:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Quick Question

Backup any critical data. Shrink the partition (if necessary) using GParted on the source drive. Run CloneZilla or Acronis (I prefer CloneZilla, but that's just my personal opinion - several other members prefer Acronis, so it's really up to you), and clone the drive over after you hook it up.

Usually a good idea to do Disk -> Image to secondary drive; then Image -> disk, just so there's less chance of something possibly going wrong with the source drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 07:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Quick Question

Just a note from me, I'm one who usually prefers Acronis but I just used their latest Home version and I thought it was rather bloated and confusing. My next clone I will probably try Clonezilla.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 02:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
rhu1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 521
Default Re: Quick Question

I take it that those two programs are preferred over the cloning one that comes with the SSD? All I have on the current drive is the OS, BF4, BF3, Borderlands 2 and XCom plus drivers etc. and a few small things like fraps and team speak which are easy to replace. I just list those things to illustrate how restricted my usage is in case it makes any difference for whatever reason.
__________________
i5-4430 4GB EVGA GTX970 Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600
SeaSonic M12II 620W ASRock B85M-HDS
rhu1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 03:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Student & Lover of Games
 
XGC Forsakend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,395
Default Re: Quick Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhu1949 View Post
I take it that those two programs are preferred over the cloning one that comes with the SSD? All I have on the current drive is the OS, BF4, BF3, Borderlands 2 and XCom plus drivers etc. and a few small things like fraps and team speak which are easy to replace. I just list those things to illustrate how restricted my usage is in case it makes any difference for whatever reason.
.... I have 600+ gb being used. probably my school work files and art, sound/music and model packages and assets taking up space.

I want an SSD, but nervous on screwing up and not backing up something I may think I won't need in the future but do
XGC Forsakend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 04:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
rhu1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 521
Default Re: Quick Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by XGC Forsakend View Post
.... I have 600+ gb being used. probably my school work files and art, sound/music and model packages and assets taking up space.

I want an SSD, but nervous on screwing up and not backing up something I may think I won't need in the future but do
I'm a little nervous because I hate messing stuff up, but nothing crucial is on there. You need to get on board the multiple-hd-master-race train.
__________________

__________________
i5-4430 4GB EVGA GTX970 Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600
SeaSonic M12II 620W ASRock B85M-HDS
rhu1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.