Quick question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2008, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default Quick question

I have HP a400n computer with 2.7ghz processor in the beggining computer had only 256mb but a year ago I upgraded to 768MB right now I am thinking going 2gb total will my system handle it ? Will I notice I huge improvement?
I am running windows xp
__________________

4uvak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Quick question

Your system can only handle 1 GB (2 x 512 MB).
I don't see any real reason for you to upgrade it.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 10:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default Re: Quick question

Yes I see some websites show me 1GB some 2GB which one is right?
4uvak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Quick question

After some more searching I think the 2gb is the right one. I'm not really sure if you should upgrade or not,(leaning more towards no). If your gonna upgrade, your going to have to get rid of your old ram that is installed. Kind of a waste.

As for the speed increase, I don't think you will notice much of a increase unless you are running programs that require lots of ram.
brinks is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 11:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Quick question

Even HP doesn't know for sure. According to the product specs it is a max of 1 GB (2 x 512). According to the mobo specs right beside it it is 2 GB (2 x 1 GB).

All you can do is try it, I guess.

Since the mobo doesn't have a graphics slot, it isn't very expandable.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 11:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Quick question

I'm going to say that your not going to notice any big diffrence between what you have now and what you would have at 2 GB...

The diffrence between 256 and 768 is huge.. but you would think going up to 2GB you would see even more.. but you wont, i did it with my emachines and it was a complete waste same thing as you... Started at 256. Went to 768... then went to 1.5 GB and didnt seem any diffrent
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Quick question

Unless you are encoding or playing a memory intensive game, anything over a gig doesn't give a noticable difference.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at) Higach Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-06-2008 02:06 AM
Quick Question...RAM SYL\X/3K New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-12-2007 06:39 AM
Quick case question sailpog System Upgrades 6 10-05-2007 12:21 PM
Very quick question my friends psychedelos New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-13-2007 03:00 PM
Quick question sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-11-2007 11:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.