Quick newbie RAM question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2008, 01:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
706
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124
Default Quick newbie RAM question

If a motherboard has these specifications for the memory slots

Type: DDRII 533/400
Max capacity: 2GB
DIMM slots: 2

Does that mean it can only have RAM that is clocked at 533 or 400mhz frequency? Also if it has a 2GB limit but 2 slots, can you have the 2GB in the 1 slot, or do you have to get 2 1GB sticks?
__________________

706 is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Quick newbie RAM question

2GB limit is total limit, you can't have more than that, you can have any combination but it won't recognise anything over 2 GB

For the frequency your Ram can go below that but you can't overclock higher than 533
__________________

[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 40
Send a message via Yahoo to Grievous
Default Re: Quick newbie RAM question

How about if I have 2 PC533 and I will add 2 PC667. Will it work?
Grievous is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Quick newbie RAM question

Yes it would work fine, but the PC667 RAM would be running at 533 MHz

EDIT - Your specifications that you stated say that you only have 2 DIMM slots, which means you can only have 2 sticks of RAM
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 40
Send a message via Yahoo to Grievous
Default Re: Quick newbie RAM question

Oh that was 706's question. I just had a follow up question. I have 4 DIMM slots and was just wondering if I add 2 1gb RAM 667s. Thanks for the info
Grievous is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Quick newbie RAM question

Oh well then no problem, they would just run at 533MHz

No problems glad I could help
__________________

[t..o..m] is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ram question AMD64x2_4400 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-10-2008 08:54 PM
quick noobish question MangoSalsa New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-29-2008 11:47 AM
RAM Question!!! tariqadkhan Laptops and Notebooks 6 01-07-2008 09:22 AM
Simple Question about 4gb RAM OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-02-2007 10:46 AM
Quick question sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-11-2007 11:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.