Quick MoBo question

Status
Not open for further replies.

JFish1801

Solid State Member
Hey all, sry bout the question, i'm pretty new to all of this. I have an eMachines T3104 using a FIC VIA K8M-800M socket 754 socket mobo running a Sempron 3100+. and a gig of ram.

Q: I'd like to upgrade the power supply to support a 6600gt, will a 24-pin power supply work even tho it doesn't look like there's much room (it's a 20pin mobo)?

Thx all :D

~JFish

A new mobo will allow you to overclock, as well as choose the options you want.

A new mobo will also force you to wipe your hard drive and reinstall Windows, as well as everything else.

Something to think about.

Oh, your mobo is a microATX board, and your case is a mini-tower. You cannot use an ATX (full size) mobo. Your current mobo can handle up to a 3600+ CPU.

Your PSU is 300W.

Unless you have added some RAM, you may want to get another stick of 256MB.

Sorry to burst your bubble, Trotter, but I know for a fact that normal-size ATX power supplies will definitely fit into JFish's case. JFish has what we normally call a "Mini ATX Tower." Although his case is only large enough to support MicroATX motherboards, the screwholes and space in his case support regular-size ATX power supplies.

The only time one would need a true MicroATX power supply is if one had a slim MicroATX case, such as an Antec Minuet II. These power supplies are substantially smaller in size. They typically only feature 60mm fans instead of the standard 80mm or even 120mm fans used in standard ATX power supplies. Slim MicroATX cases such as these also only support half-height expansion cards, which is definitely not the case in JFish's system since it uses a full-height PCI card.