Quick installation question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default Quick installation question.

I'm about to order my motherboard, but I've been reading some websites on how to replace the motherboard and they all mention using your XP installation disk. I don't have one, my comp came with it already installed. Do I need this?
__________________

Propheticjester is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

dont worry about the disk you dont need it. when you connect your motherboard up and turn your pc on your pc will notice the change. Just install everything on the disk that comes with the board.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default

lol what would I do without you. You're always on these boards. I guess that's how you get good. ; )
Propheticjester is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

just glad to be of help and make it easier for others. i only joined 2 days ago and im only 16 lol.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

When your installing a new motherboard, you would always want to reformat. Beacuse of all the other motherboard driver's left behind and all the other old stuff
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

have a look at this thread
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=96851
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Hmm well my problem is, my comp didn't come with any disks so how would I go about reformatting?
Propheticjester is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

I wouldnt suggest reformatting cos this will erase everything on your pc. Theres prob a much easier way of getting rid of the old drivers and even if there isnt i doubt they use up much memory. I wouldnt worry too much about them, hardly worth it.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Hmm I guess I'm gonna have to do this through trial and error. Wish me luck.
Propheticjester is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

trial and error on what? The drivers are hardly worth the fuss. I dont think u would want to lose everything on your hdd. good luck.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.