quick gpu/psu question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2007, 10:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default quick gpu/psu question

my friend has a hp pavillion a610n and he wants to play nfs carbon so I recommended buying a cheap AGP card like this one under $50

Newegg.com - XFX PVT44AWANG GeForce 6200 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Retail

would something like the 6200 require a new psu? I didn't think so but just making sure

Thanks
__________________

Transerver is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

No, but I don't think it's gonna make Carbon any better.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

well the requirement is (ATI Radeon 8500 or greater; NVIDIA GeForce 4 Ti or greater)

and the one he has is integrated so I thought a 6200 would make it playable, it won't even run on his comp right now
Transerver is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 12:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

Just go for something better like a 7600GT or 7800GS.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

like I said, he can't spend over $50
Transerver is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

then whats the point of upgrading?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 07:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

he just wants to play that game, he has an old integrated one that won't run the game.

I was asking if a 6200 would run that game, I thought it would since the requirement is just ATI Radeon 8500 or greater; NVIDIA GeForce 4 Ti or greater

just making sure...
Transerver is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

It should run the game just fine, I don't think it'll be amazing but it should run it.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

thanks m733
Transerver is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: quick gpu/psu question

I got a 7300gt for sale. Its more powerful than that 6200.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick question Kurt Rambis New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-14-2007 10:07 PM
Quick case question sailpog System Upgrades 6 10-05-2007 12:21 PM
PSU Question!!! Help Quick Please AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 08-24-2007 12:36 PM
Very quick question my friends psychedelos New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-13-2007 03:00 PM
Quick question sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-11-2007 11:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.