Questions about RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2012, 11:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North England
Posts: 46
Default Questions about RAM

How do you find out what the timing code is on existing RAM?
How important is it that the timing codes are the same on all sticks of RAM?
What happens if they aren't the same timing codes?
__________________

sidwell8 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 12:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Questions about RAM

It all depends on rather you are combining RAM. It will always default to the lowest speed. If you look on the RAM stick, it should have a sticker on it that tells you all the information.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 01:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North England
Posts: 46
Default Re: Questions about RAM

its all 800mhz but within the selection of 800mhz sticks arent there different timing codes or are the 800mhz timing codes all the same
sidwell8 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 01:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Questions about RAM

Time codes do you mean the 9-9-9-24 numbers?

CPU-z from CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting will tell you what RAM sticks are currently in each of your slots.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North England
Posts: 46
Default Re: Questions about RAM

ye i dont know what the timing codes for the ram sticks i already have are so i dunno if i can just go out and buy some 2gb 800mhz sticks
sidwell8 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 02:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Questions about RAM

use cpu-z. It'll tell you.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Questions Extreme112 System Upgrades 8 04-20-2011 09:27 PM
Some RAM questions Perf System Upgrades 2 11-29-2008 02:55 AM
Ram questions Deadpixel New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-20-2007 09:16 AM
Ram and ram slots questions dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-19-2007 11:04 AM
RAM Questions trekkie00 System Upgrades 9 10-07-2005 06:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.