Questions about my Asus 6600? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Questions about my Asus 6600?

So I got this videocard for christmas............................

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121197

I like it, but there are some things that I want to fix.

1. First, when I play CS 1.6 i am only getting 60 FPS. Isn't that kind of low? My friend has an hp with a p4 2.8 and he gets 100 FPS with his onboard graphics. Is something or wrong or there like a setting i have to change or something? Shouldn't my videocard be able to get 100 FPS too?

2. I installed the drivers that came with my videocard, but I want to update them. I tried searching but i couldn't really find it on Asus' website. I would appreciate it if somebody could help me find the drivers update.

That's it. Could somebody please help me out my main concern is number 1. I thought a 6600 would perform better than this. thanx.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

1. CS 1.6 keeps your framerate at 60 sometimes with some cards because of the monitor refresh rate in the game. So 60 is absolutely fine, I get the same.

2. www.nvidia.com
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

60FPS is fine, you probably can't even notice the difference between 60 and 100 FPS
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

k thanx guys.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.