Question with upgrading GFX Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2008, 08:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

Yeah, the ATI one didn't look to promising with the reviews. I dunno, I kinda want to stay away from that and stick with nVidia. The 9600GSO looks nice.

I dunno if I've said this yet in this thread, but I'm just looking to play WoW on max graphics with a fairly high FPS and GTA4 when it comes out.
__________________

enorox is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 08:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

WoW is easy to max..

GTA4.. no card out can do that right now (its more demanding than Crysis is, and Crysis has yet to be maxed with good FPS, settle with Medium/Medium-Low on GTA4)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 08:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

the 9600 will be fine

if you raid your going to get slowdowns no matter what kind of system your running

but this 9600gso will be fine for you 95% of the time in wow,

with max graphics
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 08:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Default

Okay, how about GTA4? Would you happen to know how that card will run with that game given only the requirements that just came out.

Scratch that, it should be fine.

But one thing. Is there a difference between these two.

Newegg.com - ASUS EN9600GSO TOP/HTDP/384M GeForce 9600 GSO 384MB 192-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Newegg.com - EVGA 384-P3-N965-TR GeForce 9600 GSO 384MB 192-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Basically just the price. They seem the same.
enorox is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 08:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

not really, just different makers...

the EVGA looks like it has a better cooler


.. and its out of stock.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 09:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
WoW is easy to max..

GTA4.. no card out can do that right now (its more demanding than Crysis is, and Crysis has yet to be maxed with good FPS, settle with Medium/Medium-Low on GTA4)
By max, you are implying that the pc version will have quite a bit better graphics and such? Or are you implying that the game was not streamlined and programmed improperly like the regular crysis and that is why nothing can max it. If that is so, can you not even get it to look like it looks on a console?
Druid is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 09:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

I'd say Medium on the PC beats what the Console has...

But GTA4 is a really demanding game, high graphics, good textures, nice effects; I don't know if the engine will be crap like Crysis was (Plus you get AA and AF on the PC)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 09:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

its because its a very demanding game, and it doesnt look as good on console (the native resolution is lower, and all the extra goodies arent enabled).
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 01:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

Trust me... the 3850 is a good card. I play a few older games, but I also play COD4, COD5 (beta), and Fallout 3 on my card and all run smooth and look great. It is hard to beat its bang for the buck, especially now that the price has dropped so far.

Too bad I don't have a Crossfire board, as I would slap another puppy in there for these prices.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 04:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question with upgrading GFX Card

I'm not saying its a bad card, but Games are getting over-demanding for no reason.. I mean games like COD4 look pretty good and aren't overkill in terms of Requirements
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my PC(Graphics Card and Hard Drive) Tharar System Upgrades 10 11-01-2008 03:45 PM
Overclocking Gfx card shortens life? Cat_Returns Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 10-12-2008 12:06 PM
Upgrading grpahics card matthewgilchris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 08-16-2007 01:24 PM
Ram & Graphic Card Question .. AhBeng Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-26-2007 02:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.