Question Concerning Graphics Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2010, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default Question Concerning Graphics Cards

Hello, I feel like I'm asking a question I already know the answer to, but it's better to be sure.

I was contemplating buying an 8800gt from a friend who is upgrading because I have an 8500gt at the moment which is just abysmal. Would it be possible to put this card in my PC, but keep the 8500gt just to run a third monitor from.

Performance gains are not important, all I want to know is whether I can use this for an extra VGA out.

Any help appreciated.
__________________

HandyHero is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Question Concerning Graphics Cards

if your mobo has the appropriate expansions slots for both cards then yes, you should be able to.

if you have a weak psu though, you might not be able to because it would be trying to power 2 gfx cards.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 82
Default Re: Question Concerning Graphics Cards

I am pretty sure that you cannot run two dissimilar GPUs at once. To run 2 cards at the same time they must be of the same model, manufacturer, and BIOS version.
Multiple Graphics Cards
jairic is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Question Concerning Graphics Cards

he was asking if he could use his current card just to run another monitor off of, not in sli.

and no, if youre gonna run multiple gpus in sli (or xfire), they dont have to be from the same manufacturer.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Question Concerning Graphics Cards

Apr 24 2006

Your article is a leeeeettle out of date, mate.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick power supply and graphics card question noobXkyoob System Upgrades 2 11-21-2009 06:40 PM
Stupid question in regard to Monitor cables and Workstation Graphic Cards Harper Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 03-07-2009 03:40 PM
ATI Unveils Worlds First Graphics Processors Made Using 40nm Process Technology Trotter New Technology and Products 2 03-03-2009 10:07 PM
Graphics Cards? M0rga Laptops and Notebooks 10 09-03-2007 11:35 AM
Dual graphics cards ChiliPalmer New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-27-2007 04:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.