Question on bottlenecking and upgrading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2008, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

My parents just recently gave me their old computer which has a decent set up, but I am wanting to upgrade to play games likes Gears of War.

The set up right now is

(sorry if this isn't exact, I am at work right now)

2.4 Ghz single core processor
1 gb ram
windows xp
some plain video card

Now I know that I am gonna upgrade my video card to hopefully a GeForce 8800gt or something similar, and also upgrade the ram to 2gb. But my question is, is that if I do those upgrades, is it going to still run bad and bottleneck due to only having a single processor? Even though it is a 2.4Ghz?

Any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

its.joesef is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

It depends if the motherboard supports either LGA 775 or AM2 socket. If it supports Intel it'd be best to pick up a cheap E2180 and if its AM2 your best bet would be an X2 5000+. If it supports neither you can always pick up a cheap motherboard for every day use. Don't except to overclock like mad on a cheap motherboard though.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

its also very likely that the current computer doesnt have a pci express slot, which you would need to run any current video card.
we need to know the processor, and that will give an approximation of performance.
bottlenecks are often blown WAY out of proportion.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

Is it a pre-built computer or a custom built?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

okay got all the specs now, I am at home.

It is
Gateway
Intel Pentium 4 processor 2.53 GHz
1 GB Ram

If I dont have the correct port, is it just best to start off from scratch then and get a new tower?
its.joesef is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 02:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

I've thought about upgrading my old comp or start from scratch...
the thing is...
old-tech hardware just costs so much!
for example 2Gb of ddr 400 could run at least 55 bucks (and that's w/o heat spreaders!)
where as 2Gb of dr2 800 runs ~40 mark and as cheap as 20 after mail in rebates

and then there is the AGP video card... costs a ton for what I think its worth...

so basically, you will be paying for equal or more for stuff that runs slower than newer stuff

btw, that P4 is 478 socket
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 03:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

your psu would also probably not be sufficient to support a new vvideo card, even if it had the post. ect.

Start from scratch, and build a new comp.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 05:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

Yeah already the people above me have presented you a large bundle of problems. Long story short, it will be cheaper, and better to buy a brand new pc. (Custom Build).
zedman3d is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Question on bottlenecking and upgrading

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Yeah already the people above me have presented you a large bundle of problems. Long story short, it will be cheaper, and better to buy a brand new pc. (Custom Build).
thats what I figured. Thanks guys!
__________________

its.joesef is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.