question again...rebuilding a comp - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2007, 10:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

Wait, that AF64 won't fit with your AM2 socket. I'm guessing you're going to have to go with the Tuniq Tower 120 then.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 03:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

i'ma noob, wht does this mean? wht doesn't fit in what? the processor in the motherboard? cuz i can't get teh same proccesor anymore. plz help soon!

plus heres the case i'm getting
Turbo Gaming 9-Bay ATX Window Case with Front Audio Jacks, USB 2.0 Ports and 450W Power Supply: CP803-2 (Blue/Black)
will it fit!?
__________________

Z e i g is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

Yes it will fit. Thing is, you're not going to want to use that PSU that comes along with it.

The sockets is what your CPU will be seated on. CPU socket - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Might be something you want to glimpse over.

What are your plans for your computer at the moment? What are you wanting to upgrade and what are you keeping?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 07:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

wait...i'm not geting a power suplie with my case, thats optional. will the power supply i am getting fit tho? i looked at the case and the supplie and it said it should fit.
Also, i still dont' knwo what kind of prosesor to get!!! >.<!!!!


my plans are to use all of that to make a new comp but use my old hard drive and when that gets full (prolly by collage i'll get another and run two on my comp) as of the comp i am currently on, i may buy a cheap hard drive and give it to charity or just put it in the basement for my sis and friends.
Z e i g is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

All PSU's will fit as long as it's an ATX.

Well, keep this build right here that you've posted.

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE 550 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 550 MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory - Retail

Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX400-PN, RoHS, 12cm FAN, version 2.2, 2 SATA, 20+ 4 pin, PCI Express, 400W Power Supply - Retail

Newegg.com - EVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

This build of your's is great.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

haha its great cuz i didnt' come up with it, the b1g guy did. he helped a TON. but that prosessor is no longer on the site, is there another one i could get that would work with all those components and run just fine, maybe be overclockable later on?
Z e i g is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

You mean b1gapl.

Anyways, I can still see that CPU.

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

oh sorry, i must of not copied the entire link last time i tried to view it. its comin up now. thanks for the help!

one last question, will that power supply have JUSt enuf for what i have listed or will i have extra cables for lights and other things? i know i need at least 3 extra for a disk burning drive, a fan, and some other thing i can't quite remember at the moment.
Z e i g is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX400-PN ATX12V 400W Power Supply 120/220 - 240v NEMKO, TUV, CSA, IEC, UL, CE - Retail

This PSU will supply enough power for everything.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: question again...rebuilding a comp

awsome thanks. anything else you would sugest to keep it cool or will that all work with maybe a 50$ prosessor cooler and one extra fan in the back?
__________________

Z e i g is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP ME!! Just built first comp bor3d System Upgrades 18 10-08-2007 05:41 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
New comp doesnt turn on Gregz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 08-22-2007 07:07 PM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 08-04-2007 06:58 AM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-27-2007 01:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.