Question About Upgrading To New HDD's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Question About Upgrading To New HDD's

Intel P4, 2.8Ghz (Northwood)
Abit IS-7
1 GB Crucial SD-RAM
Western Digital Caviar SE EIDE WD800 HDD
Viewsonic A91f Monitor
Antec True Power 430
ATI Radeon 9000
Antec Tower

I am upgrading my system with two new HDD's. I have purchased two Western Digital Caviar RE-2 SATA 500 GB internal drives. I am currently running Windows XP Home on the 80 GB WD EIDE HDD.

I would like to have one of the new SATA drives as the boot drive, with the second, a backup. I do not want to set them up as RAID. I would like to keep the current drive as extra storage also. I want to keep much of the data on the current HDD also, with the exception of the OS and program files. Once I have the new drives installed, I want to transfer those files I want to save to the new drives, THEN re-format the old drive.

What would be the best way to proceed to ensure no loss of data on the old drive until I am ready to re-format, and to ensure that I won't have any conflicts during boot-up. Will I have any problems having the OS still on the old HDD, and a fresh install of Windows on one of the new SATA drives? I am confused about this. Thanks for any advice on how to proceed under these circumstances.
__________________

chap_cat is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Question About Upgrading To New HDD's

If you aren't going to use the OS and the program files, you have it easy.

Pull out the old drive, pop in the new one. Install your OS, drivers, apps, everything you plan on installing. Now, put your old drive back in as a second drive. Copy all the data you need to transfer to the new drive. Presto, mission accomplished!

Had you wanted to transfer the whole thing, you would have had to use a third party program, like Ghost or Acronis.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Question About Upgrading To New HDD's

Thanks, Trotter. I was hoping there was a way to do it without having to pull my old HDD, then put it back in.

Also, if I do it the way you advise, would there be any problem with still having the OS on both HDD's until after I copy all the data files to the new one?
chap_cat is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Question About Upgrading To New HDD's

Not really. When you put the old one back in you will need to check the BIOS and make sure the boot drive is still set for the new drive, but that's it.

Actually, you don't have to physically remove the drive. Just unplug the SATA cable from the motherboard.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Question About Upgrading To New HDD's

I appreciate the advice. Thanks again.
chap_cat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about SATA + EIDE HDDs! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-27-2007 10:08 AM
Upgrading my system..a few questions yamahammer342 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-13-2007 11:04 PM
Upgrading Motherboard and processor. HDD switch question BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-28-2007 01:16 AM
Upgrading to XP pro question ingeborgdot Microsoft Windows and Software 7 05-25-2007 09:28 PM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.