question about replacing memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2006, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default question about replacing memory

I was going to sell my Kingston technology value ram 256mb KVR DDR400/PC3200, CL3 184-Pin DIMM, desktop RAM, but now I decided to get a desktop replacement laptop instead of building a desktop, and I have a couple questions concerning RMA.
Seeing that Kingston Rams have Lifetime Warranty, my brother tore open the box rendering it useless to sell. But the stick is still intact, there's a sticker on the ram itself that says "Warranty void if removed." thank god my brother didn't tear that off, but he did open the plastic case. so all my brother did was tore the blue box open, opened the plastic case of the Ram inside (tearing the sticker band that secured it), and laid his fingerprints on it; ram is still intact. I was wondering if Kingston can replace this product with a new one through RMA. This way I can sell it new again.

will RMA ask for the serial number/proof of purchase? cuz I gotta look for it somewhere in the house. hope it didnt get thrown out.

brncao is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

I haven't sent anything back to Kingston but most companies only require that the sticker is intact with the Ram and maybe an invoice of the purchase.

turtile is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109

try it. if they say no then you're not out anything.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230

Yeah dude Kingston will take it back just as long as their logo and serial number or model number in on the ram. you could have found it in the garbage you still could send it back to Kingston and get a replacement ok. To tell you the truth I have a friend that goes around rummaging in old computers looking for Kingston ram to send in and get new one, but lets just keep that between us guys ok.
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
MurdaX is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9

ok thanks guys
brncao is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.