Question about pre-formatted hard drives. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2009, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default Question about pre-formatted hard drives.

So, I'm looking to build my first computer from scratch. It's going good so far, and I'm ordering my hard drive fairly soon. I'm pretty sure this is a pretty dumb question, but here goes.. When I buy a pre-formatted hard drive, is all I have to do pop in the OS CD and install to get it running? I have a new copy of Windows XP, and I need to know if there's more to it than just inserting the CD and installing the OS. Thanks in advance!
__________________

Fenix Darkblaze is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Question about pre-formatted hard drives.

I always format my drive, whether it was formatted beforehand or not. I prefer to know the disk is clean. You will have the option to format the drive when you install XP.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: Question about pre-formatted hard drives.

If the drive is pre-formatted, it likely has Fat32 on it

Fat32 formatted drives are ideal for external HardDrives as they will work on all Windows computers
But normally, if you get a new Internal Hard Drive you should format it to NTFS
In your case, put the Windows Setup Disc in the drive and when you get to the stage of removing the partition do that
Then allow Windows to continue Setup, Windows will automnatically create an NTFS formatted drive during the Setup
kimsland is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive question Callofbooty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-08-2009 12:24 AM
Playststion 3 Hard drive upgrade guide (56k warning, plenty of photos) solidsteve Sony Playstation 9 08-20-2008 10:18 AM
HP laptop hard drive question diesel43078 Laptops and Notebooks 7 08-05-2008 08:26 PM
Can we recover data from formatted hard drive? terrytree Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-26-2007 09:26 PM
Which hard drives are compatible with the ABIT NF7-S motherboard? Herringtrader Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-19-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.