question about...(pic) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 09:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Not getting enough power? I have 400W is that enough? And getting too hot? I think my case has a decent airflow a 120mm in the back and a 140mm fan in the front, I'm thinking of gettn two more fans? What would you suggest I do to get the fan on my graphic card running? And how do I get rid of that hardware monitor error every time I start up or reboot?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 01:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Asus mainly gives out hardware monitor error as it feels like fans doesnt running properly, check your power cable to the fans, as if it is running smooth (at least 1200 RPM's on a BIG Copper Heatsink), then go into BIOS and click FAN settings of CPU, and select DISABLED. as Asus BIOS as when feels like fan running at slower speed (slower than 1000), then it gives out Hardware Monitor error.

BTW, you dont have to worry about your CPU getting burnt out, as Intels are coming with Thermal Diode since Pentium-III Era. so it will not bring any harm to your CPU, as if you cannot set up FAN properly in few minutes. (Prolonged Usage without FAN of course will ddamage your CPU ~ Reduced Life).
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 02:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
mole1135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135
Default

on my board the dfi lanparty nf4 ultra-d i have the 4x pci-e connector and a molex connector but i have them both plugged into my power supply is that bad?
__________________


AIM- Mole1135 Yahoo mail- Mole1135@yahoo.com
mole1135 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 03:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

the picture in your first post is the systme speaker..... it is annoying as ****...

As far as your video card's fan not spinning.... have you made sure that the power wires for the fan on that card are properly plugged into the card? Also, does the card have a spot for a molex connector, and if so, did you connect one?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 03:54 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mole1135
on my board the dfi lanparty nf4 ultra-d i have the 4x pci-e connector and a molex connector but i have them both plugged into my power supply is that bad?
it depends, as when P-IV came out, they require a 4 X Pin Square Power Stream to powerup the CPU, which is added with PCI-E connector to powerup the PCI-E cards/buses. so to say that now it requires 2 additional power streams, 1 remained for CPU and 1 for PCI-E that in your case is already included in the main power stream for mothreboard.

it was little confusing that why additional apart from 24pin + 4 pin. so I had to download the Manual for your motherboard (pretty confusing manual), i use to think Asus makes rubbish manuals. anyway, your manual shows that it is for the Graphic Card, or even a HDD. you can takle power out from this port, even if you do not insert any power cable in that molex connector, still your system should work fine. so it shows that it is output connector and not the input. just check plugging the wire out of it, if it works well.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 07:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ethereal_Dragon
the picture in your first post is the systme speaker..... it is annoying as ****...

As far as your video card's fan not spinning.... have you made sure that the power wires for the fan on that card are properly plugged into the card? Also, does the card have a spot for a molex connector, and if so, did you connect one?
Thanks to Ethereal, the power of the fan on my card wasn't all the way in, so I just took it out and reinserted it. Now that the graphics fan is running, I still have that hardware monitor error but, it doesn't look like its causing any harm to the comp or is it?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 03:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I need help with my motherboard since theres no manual for it, neither from Asus or Sony. Where would the 10-pin audio connector be and where would the firewire connector be. My mobo is a P4B266-LM.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.