Question about my CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2010, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Question Question about my CPU

Hey guys, I was looking through pages and and other CPU and I noticed that there are Duo core CPUs and they go over 2.8 Ghz and I have the 1055t six core processor and it comes at 2.8 Ghz.

So my question is that why does duo core processors go about the same speed as my six core processor.

Thanks
__________________

Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Question about my CPU

The clock speed of a processor is applicable to each core. So for you, you have 6 cores that are each at about 2.8, while the Core 2 Duo has only 2 cores that are clocked at 2.8. Just because you have more core's doesn't mean your cores are clocked faster it just means you have the abiity to run more threads at that speed through more cores making your computational ability faster.

For contrast I only have 4 cores but they are clocked at 3.68. While one of my cores are faster than one of yours you can run more threads at once than I can.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Question about my CPU

Please don't add up the 4 cores...

What Abstract says.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Question Re: Question about my CPU

what do you mean by don't add up the 4 cores.
Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Question about my CPU

You do not add 4 x 2.8 = 11.2

No one in the world has that clock speed. Each core runs independently, not as one.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 11:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Question about my CPU

Were you agreeing with me or saying I was adding up cores?
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 11:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Question about my CPU

I was agreeing with you, telling him not to add them. Some ppl do.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Question about my CPU

Clock speeds are basically irrelevant anymore now that the GHz wars are over. We were so indoctrinated by all that crap back in the day that we still look at them and try to compare different CPU generations by the GHz number, but that's like comparing a four cylinder Pinto with a four cylinder ricer drag car; both have four cylinders but one will romp the other.

Until you learn how the CPU speeds stack up with one another you would do well to search for benchmarks that compare different CPUs, or ask around here.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 01:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Question about my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
We were so indoctrinated by all that crap back in the day that we still look at them and try to compare different CPU generations by the GHz number, but that's like comparing a four cylinder Pinto with a four cylinder ricer drag car; both have four cylinders but one will romp the other.
You're so getting quoted.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 09:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Question about my CPU

Look what's quoted in my sig. :P
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gentouch78 tablet question (warning noob question) tomc102968 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 3 11-23-2010 01:13 PM
build question...e760 or e758?? also question about RAM eagle5968 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-28-2010 10:35 PM
Question on burning DVD's *Noob Question*. KCRMYZ Off Topic Discussion 3 12-31-2007 02:23 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Vista BETA Question EASY QUESTION? AuThoRitY Microsoft Windows and Software 9 12-21-2005 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.