Question about the i7 960 3.4 ghz proccessor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2011, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default Question about the i7 960 3.4 ghz proccessor

I have recently purchased an i7 960 proccesor and a Gigabyte X58 G1 Sniper Intel X58 (Socket 1366) DDR3 Motherboard. This is part of my next system upgrade and i was wondering if i can use my old DDR3 1600mhz ram or do i have to upgrade to the i7 kit ram. im hoping that i can use this old ram till next month when i can afford to get 24 giggs of the newer ram

Thanks for all answers in advance
Jack
__________________

jack_morrison is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Question about the i7 960 3.4 ghz proccessor

You will never need 24GB of RAM. 4-8GB is enough.

You can use your RAM, yes.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Question about the i7 960 3.4 ghz proccessor

thanks for the quick reply, yer i wont proberly ever use 24 giggs of ram, but its one of those things really isnt it :P people dont need fast cars to get them from a to b, but they get them anyway. i gues i just wanna max out my rigg to its max potential

but its great that i can save up a bit first as im a little skint rofl, spesh with christmas comming up
Jack
jack_morrison is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Question about the i7 960 3.4 ghz proccessor

I wouldn't really compare 24GB of RAM to a fast car, its more like having 24 cars.
While its nifty to say "I have 24 cars", the vast majority will sit around unused.
Like MoM said, you'll only have 4-8 cars at most you'll ever use, the other 16-20 will sit in a garage collecting dust.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 12:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Question about the i7 960 3.4 ghz proccessor

The i7 960 is a triple channel CPU. Or it has a triple channel memory controller. You'll want to install memory in sets of 3, as in, 3GB (3x1GB) - 6GB (6x1GB) or (3x2GB) - 12GB (6x2GB) or (3x4GB) - 24GB (6x4GB).

6GB (3x2GB) would be my recommendation.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 12:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Question about the i7 960 3.4 ghz proccessor

thanks for the information on the i7, i was wondering exactly how the triple channel worked, is it compulsary to install ram in sets of three or is tht for maximim performance?
jack_morrison is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 12:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Question about the i7 960 3.4 ghz proccessor

It's not compulsory, it's just for max performance.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proccessor question alextrzaska Laptops and Notebooks 2 01-30-2008 09:59 PM
Mobo/proccessor question phr0zen Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 09-21-2002 12:29 AM
Need Help W/ AMD proccessor Delta3865 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-26-2002 06:17 AM
Need Help W/ AMD proccessor Delta3865 Off Topic Discussion 0 08-21-2002 01:17 AM
Need Help W/ AMD proccessor Delta3865 Off Topic Discussion 0 08-21-2002 01:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.