Question about Grounding - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2008, 10:58 PM   #21 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by jantar View Post
So, theoretically, the case and I are one system, but by touching a CPU which is not yet connected to the system I may damage it, right?
Lol...first off: don't worry about it, touch the case before you start and you'll be fine, all this extra stuff is unnecessary details you don't have to thing about.

THEORETICALLY, yes you could cause some damage to the cpu but I've NEVER heard of a cpu being damaged from static so don't worry about it. you're much more likely to break or bend a pin
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:00 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Question about Grounding

I think the worse thing you can do is work on a PC with greasy fingers. I've seen a lot of techs wear latex gloves to protect the part. I just wash my hands with soap before I get started.
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:01 PM   #23 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
Lol...first off: don't worry about it, touch the case before you start and you'll be fine, all this extra stuff is unnecessary details you don't have to thing about.

THEORETICALLY, yes you could cause some damage to the cpu but I've NEVER heard of a cpu being damaged from static so don't worry about it. you're much more likely to break or bend a pin
Newer Intel processors don't have pins anymore, lol.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Question about Grounding

lol, bit of a giveaway that i'm an amd boy eh? i really do need to try an intel system one of these days.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:40 PM   #25 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
As far as safe goes...you always hear the stories about someone who fried something because of static but i've never met this someone.
Hi.

...
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Question about Grounding

man, if your touching the case there is no chance of a discharge, if you let go there is a remote chance...remote meaning maybe 3% chance that it could happen...the longer you go with out touching the case the more likely there will be a discharge, just touch the case every 10mins when your working in it. Always have the psu cable unplugged from the case when your working in it.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 05:58 AM   #27 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
man, if your touching the case there is no chance of a discharge, if you let go there is a remote chance...remote meaning maybe 3% chance that it could happen...the longer you go with out touching the case the more likely there will be a discharge, just touch the case every 10mins when your working in it. Always have the psu cable unplugged from the case when your working in it.
Exactly...and I think 3% is being generous, a little legal disclaimer there :P Maybe like a 3% there will be a discharge and a 5% chance that discharge will actually cause damage....staked, that's a low probability, think of how may members there are in the forum and how many of them have fried something from statis? Sounds like Greg there won this lottery, what did you fry?

BTW, won't be replying for a bit, am off to the hospital, wife is in labour, time to expand the family! lol, wish us luck!
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 06:43 AM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Just install thats it , no need to make a ruckus.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:47 AM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
BTW, won't be replying for a bit, am off to the hospital, wife is in labour, time to expand the family! lol, wish us luck!
Good luck, man! Thank you all for the input.
jantar is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 11:18 AM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Question about Grounding

jfen , good luck !
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding RAM question Drewser New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-29-2008 01:27 PM
Rivatuner Question Drewser Overclocking and Modding 2 11-28-2007 03:40 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.