Question about Grounding - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2008, 09:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Stop worrying about it. Chances that you will damage your parts are low.
Yes, but there are many stories about "frying one's Mobo". Is it from overclocking too much or what?
__________________

jantar is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by jantar View Post
Yes, but there are many stories about "frying one's Mobo". Is it from overclocking too much or what?
lol, could be. I haven't heard too many stories of frying mobos.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about Grounding

thats because some people are idiotic and too demanding and ignorant when it comes to overclocking, and not doing the reasonable stuff

of course your going to fry your q6600 if you push it to 1.8V
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Well, thanks guys. So long, I'm going to sleep now.

EDIT: Obviously I didn't go.
jantar is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by jantar View Post
So, by touching the case I'm equalized with that case but may be yet charged and by grabbing say CPU or Mobo I may damage it? Sorry, it goes too much teoretical I guess.

But is the PSU plugged?
Numero uno: ALWAYS have the psu unplugged when working on the guts of the computer.

The components of the comp are bonded to each other and the case through regular contact...it's one system. When you touch the case you become part of that system while you are touching it. If you let go then you are your own system again but you are of the same charge as the computer so shouldn't be any static issues. In my opinion the electrostatic bracelets are over kill but they do work and I don't fault anyone for using one. If you walk into any reputable electronics manufacturer they will all be wearing these type of bracelets that are attached to a grounding source so everyone is grounded while working with the electronics at all times.

As far as safe goes...you always hear the stories about someone who fried something because of static but i've never met this someone.

Let me know if that works for you
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Question about Grounding

I was fed up with my TV Tuner card before so I took it out and touched it all over the place without worrying about static or grease from my fingers. I even threw it around on my table. I thought it crapped out on me. So what happened next? I reinstalled it and it worked, lol. I didn't even unplug the power cord on the back of the case. Very careless on my part, but everything still ended up working.

But still, it's always better to take precaution by touching a metal chassis to ground yourself and by unplugging the power cord in the back of the PC. Electricity pass through your body like nothing. It's the electrons are always trying to go from positive to negative, one end to the other to complete a circuit with you being the conductor. By touching metal, you are discharging the electrons or disrupting the path for electric current to go through.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
Numero uno: ALWAYS have the psu unplugged when working on the guts of the computer.

The components of the comp are bonded to each other and the case through regular contact...it's one system. When you touch the case you become part of that system while you are touching it. If you let go then you are your own system again but you are of the same charge as the computer so shouldn't be any static issues. In my opinion the electrostatic bracelets are over kill but they do work and I don't fault anyone for using one. If you walk into any reputable electronics manufacturer they will all be wearing these type of bracelets that are attached to a grounding source so everyone is grounded while working with the electronics at all times.

As far as safe goes...you always hear the stories about someone who fried something because of static but i've never met this someone.

Let me know if that works for you
So, theoretically, the case and I are one system, but by touching a CPU which is not yet connected to the system I may damage it, right?
jantar is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Yes. If static is allowed to get to it, you could potentially damage the CPU.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about Grounding

lol, stop worrying about it.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Numero uno: ALWAYS have the psu unplugged when working on the guts of the computer.
I meant plugged, but turned off to provide grounding for the case.
__________________

jantar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding RAM question Drewser New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-29-2008 01:27 PM
Rivatuner Question Drewser Overclocking and Modding 2 11-28-2007 03:40 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.