Question about Grounding - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2008, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Question about Grounding

OK, I've heard that to avoid static electricity to damage my computer I shoud ground myself by touching the computer case.

Now, there is one thing that I don't understand: If the case isn't itself grounded (e.g. lying on the table) how am I grounding myself by simply touching it?

Can someone explain? I just want to understand what I'm doing.
__________________

jantar is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Well, it's suppose to be when there are components like the PSU installed and the case gets the ground from there. Also, even by itself, the big metal case will somewhat absorb the static.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Oh, so I understand the PSU shoud be plugged but turned off?
jantar is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 09:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Yes, that should work. Static isn't a really big issue. Hasn't ever been an issue for me.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Yes, that should work. Static isn't a really big issue. Hasn't ever been an issue for me.
Good to know that, I was a little concerned about static. Thanks for clearing this up.
jantar is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Question about Grounding

you're not actually grounding, you're bonding. We use them interchangeable but they are different. Static can occur when there is a charge differential. Lets say you are positively charged and the case is lesser so or negatively charged. That little shock you get is electrons jumping to equalize that charge..either from you to the case or the case to you, doesn't matter.

Therefore, because metal and our bodies are both conductors simply touching the case creates a transfer of these electrons to neutralize charges between you and the case and therefore remove the possibility of a static discharge (unless you build up your charge again).

Grounding actually removes the charge altogether rather than just equalizing.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about Grounding

you could either hold on to the case the whole time, or get a cheap anti-static wristband
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 09:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Question about Grounding

meh, i'll touch the case before i install something and thats about it. My computer build station is the carpet floor in front of my plasma so i can watch UFC while building. I make sure to touch the case before starting and again if i get up and walk away. I've never had an issue with static.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 09:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
you're not actually grounding, you're bonding. We use them interchangeable but they are different. Static can occur when there is a charge differential. Lets say you are positively charged and the case is lesser so or negatively charged. That little shock you get is electrons jumping to equalize that charge..either from you to the case or the case to you, doesn't matter.

Therefore, because metal and our bodies are both conductors simply touching the case creates a transfer of these electrons to neutralize charges between you and the case and therefore remove the possibility of a static discharge (unless you build up your charge again).

Grounding actually removes the charge altogether rather than just equalizing.
So, by touching the case I'm equalized with that case but may be yet charged and by grabbing say CPU or Mobo I may damage it? Sorry, it goes too much teoretical I guess.

Quote:
meh, i'll touch the case before i install something and thats about it. My computer build station is the carpet floor in front of my plasma so i can watch UFC while building. I make sure to touch the case before starting and again if i get up and walk away. I've never had an issue with static.
But is the PSU plugged?
jantar is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 09:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about Grounding

Quote:
Originally Posted by jantar View Post
So, by touching the case I'm equalized with that case but may be yet charged and by grabbing say CPU or Mobo I may damage it? Sorry, it goes too much teoretical I guess.
Stop worrying about it. Chances that you will damage your parts are low.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding RAM question Drewser New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-29-2008 01:27 PM
Rivatuner Question Drewser Overclocking and Modding 2 11-28-2007 03:40 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.