Question about compatability - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2010, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default Question about compatability

Hello, I'm soon going to be upgrading my computer with the following parts, and I was wondering if they will all work well together.

Processor
Newegg.com - Intel Core2 Duo E7500 Wolfdale 2.93GHz 3MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80571E7500

Motherboard
Newegg.com - MSI G41M-P35 LGA 775 Intel G41 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Memory
Newegg.com - OCZ Gold 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Desktop Memory Model OCZ3G1066LV4GK
__________________

Eesioh is offline  
Old 11-24-2010, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default Re: Question about compatability

Looks like you got it all figured out. Good job, should work just fine together.
__________________

EoADark is offline  
Old 11-24-2010, 11:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Question about compatability

They will work together, but you could go with a quad for the same money:
1. AMD Phenom II X4 925 Deneb 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor HDX925WFGIBOX
2. BIOSTAR A880G+ AM3 AMD 880G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Combo Price: $174.99

Oh, and that RAM sucks majorly. Go with this (plus this is $3 cheaper):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231277
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 11-25-2010, 12:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question about compatability

Thank you both. I will probably do what you suggested trotter.
Eesioh is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 01:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Question about compatability

The Ripjaws will work in either board. I just wanted you to see that you could go with a quad for the same money. To me, 4 > 2.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 11-25-2010, 01:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question about compatability

Well, I probably should have said that I already own the CPU. I don't understand how the Ripjaws would work. They both take 800/1066/1333 and the Ripjaws are 1600? I probably just don't understand. Could you help me out, lol.
Eesioh is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 01:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Question about compatability

They will underclock to the lowest compatible speed when in a slower board.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question about compatability

Ahh, so if I got a Mobo with a Memory Standard of say DDR3 1066 and put Memory that is DDR3 1600 it would just adjust? Sorry, just trying to make sure.
Eesioh is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 01:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Question about compatability

Yes sir.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 01:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question about compatability

Okay, thanks very much for all your help.
__________________

Eesioh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Compatability Question GamerKingFaiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-28-2009 02:58 PM
Question about compatability? Dean66 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-24-2007 05:32 AM
Mem Compatability Question! ren0nie0 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-16-2006 02:29 PM
Compatability question with PSU breakdownrt New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-17-2006 12:10 AM
compatability question! gimli of gloin Overclocking and Modding 2 07-15-2005 04:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.