Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2006, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via ICQ to deadlytroop
Default Question

Can i put any mobo in any case cause i forget what kind of mobo i have in my comp now but i wanna get a new case and the new case i want is and atx or atx-micro case midtower or w.e????? can any1 help me out
__________________

deadlytroop is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 07:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

If it says ATX and/or micro-ATX, then the case is compatible with either motherboard form factors.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via ICQ to deadlytroop
Default

the thing is i dont remember if my mobo is ATX or ATX-micro
deadlytroop is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

its not that hard to identify a mobo type...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via ICQ to deadlytroop
Default

lol iam not to good at my computer stuff how could i tell?
deadlytroop is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

If it has like more then 2 or 3 pci slots then it's most likely an ATX form. Less than that would be micro. Also micro-ATX mobos look more like a square, where as the ATX forms are more rectangular.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via ICQ to deadlytroop
Default

oo ok ty
deadlytroop is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

But it won't matter if the case can handle both ATX and micro, because either one will fit.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via ICQ to deadlytroop
Default

rgr
deadlytroop is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via ICQ to deadlytroop
Default

well iam on here , for ram do i needa match anything? like pins and whats kind is good DDR2 ......?
__________________

deadlytroop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.