Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2006, 08:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
aliasaid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400

well considering how old your comp is, you probably won't be able to carry over much, probably just hard drive and opticals, but you already said you're getting a new HD, so i guess just optical drives... and it would depend on your budget as well.. if you have ultra low budget you may also carry over ddr ram as well i guess.. but not recommended. what would your budget be?

"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 07:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 38

I'd like to keep it under $1000. Would I be able to use the video card? I don't need one that's high-end.

chickfilafan is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230

I just copied and pasted this list from another, though I edited it to meet your budget...

Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6300 1.86GHz 1066MHz 2MB LGA775 CPU, Retail $198.79

Asus P5NSLI Core 2 Duo/ nForce 570 SLI/ DDR2/ SAT2/ RAID/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard $112.27

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) - Retail $177.99

eVGA 256-P2-N584-AR Geforce 7900GT KO 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail $264.99 ($244.99 after $20.00 rebate)

SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series SP2504C 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM $69.99

NEC 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE/ATAPI Model ND-3550A - OEM $28.99

Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-500 ATX12V 500W Power Supply - Retail $69.99

COOLER MASTER Centurion 532 RC-532-SKN1 Black Computer Case - Retail $64.99 ($44.99 after $20.00 rebate)

Total $988.00 before rebates, $948.00 after rebates.
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117

Do you have the box that came with that card?

It should have on the front very noticble AGP8X or PCI-E (or PCI-Express).. if it says AGP at all, you are fine.. You can install the card and your good to go. AGP 8x cards will work in a 4x slot.

Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.