Quad Core Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2007, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Quad Core Laptop

Just woundern, will there be a quad core laptop out this summer around $2500.00CAN or less, im goin to collage next september and i need a laptop, i dont wanna waste money on a dual-core when quad cores are around the corner.
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

A long time ago it was scheduled for Q1 2008 but that may be earlier since the desktop Quad core was released early.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Dual-core is more than enough for now, quad cores wont really be necesary for a while.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Default

If you are going to spend $2,500 I'd wait until the quad comes out.
catbeardogman is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by catbeardogman
If you are going to spend $2,500 I'd wait until the quad come out.
Quads out, just not in Laptops yet but, honestly i dont really see a need for Quad on a Lappy unless you're going to be using it for some MAJOR 3D developing and the likes
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by COD2_fanatic
Quads out, just not in Laptops yet but, honestly i dont really see a need for Quad on a Lappy unless you're going to be using it for some MAJOR 3D developing and the likes
i agree.....dual core is more than enough for a laptop....
check this site out for some really nice prebuilt lappys-
www.widowpc.com
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.