quad core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2007, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default quad core

Is there a huge difference between the q6600 Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail and the xeon x3210 Newegg.com - Intel Xeon X3210 Kentsfield 2.13GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
I'm building a new rig since my bro bought my old one in the sig. I can get teh G0 Q6600 for 290 or should I just grab the Xeon for 250. Probably not worth saving the extra 40 bucks huh?
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: quad core

Xeons are pretty much meant for server use and usually need to be run in dual cpu sets.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: quad core

xeons are not good for gaming, your opty looks fine though, the q6600 is a good improvement
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: quad core

Xeons is for servers, and shouldn't be really used for gaming maybe daily computing but that should be all the Xeon should do. Where as the Q6600 is much better with G0 stepping which consumes less power meaning a lower temperature while it's at full load.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: quad core

I do alot of music production with reason,ableton,nuendo and stuff so not really used for gaming at all but alot of multitasking. I usually have two programs running in rewire with a bunch of VST's and ocassionally make dvd movies. My opty does good now but i want a quad for the future.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 10:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 47
Default Re: quad core

definately get the Q6600..its great for gaming and DEFINATELY multi tasking! and when games and programs actualy start to utalise all 4 cores u can overclock it and ull still be up there with the best in over a years time however it does run quite hot and i hear the cpu cooler it comes with isnt that great so u might want to look into buying a beter cooler if u will be oc'ing it..
xXSN1P3RXx is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: quad core

Quote:
Originally Posted by xXSN1P3RXx View Post
definately get the Q6600..its great for gaming and DEFINATELY multi tasking! and when games and programs actualy start to utalise all 4 cores u can overclock it and ull still be up there with the best in over a years time however it does run quite hot and i hear the cpu cooler it comes with isnt that great so u might want to look into buying a beter cooler if u will be oc'ing it..
I'm def overclocking. I'll probably end up grabbing a tuniq to cool it with Crucial ballistix or G.Skill HZ's and Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 04:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: quad core

This is all you need.
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

No need for the DDR3 slots.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Geforce 8800 Ultra SLI or quad core qx6800 advancedgeek New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-08-2007 10:51 AM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.