qestion on emachines T5048 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2006, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Cool qestion on emachines T5048

Ok my first question is hardware i took the cd dvd drive out and it has two slots there and when i put my new one in the same slot of the old drive but the screws dont fit. and i looked at the second slot and it would work perfect but there is a metal thing that is in the middle of the second slide does any body know how to take it out cuz the screws work in that slot i just need to get the metal slot out.

Thx

P.S. im new here but i like the site i will definatly try to stay active on here
__________________

confederate1290 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

I am not really sure about emachines but normally those little metal brackets just break off. You just apply pressure or twist and it snaps of. Dont take my work though i know nothing about emachines,look inside at the bracket, check the corners to see if they are just barely attached if the metal is thin in all four corners thats a good indicator that you can just twist it off.
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Yeah, you have to break it out.

Actually, the way you would mount the drive in the eMachine (if you are replacing the original drive) would be to remove the bezel (front panel) of the new drive and replace it with the rounded bezel of the drive you pulled out of the chassis.

In my old computer (an eMachine, now my wife's computer), I replaced the original drive and had to do this. I also later added another optical drive, but mounted it with just its black bezel.

All in all it comes down to your own personal preference.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

english 101 first.

Then follow trotters instructions.
HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.