Q6600 Temp AF7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2008, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 306
Default Q6600 Temp AF7

I was wondering. I am running this CPU at stock speeds. I have stock temps of 37,33,37,32 at idle and 52,49,52,47 at Ortho's full load. I am concerned I wont be able to OC this that much. Has anyone else with this config seen temps like this? I was using CPU-z Hardware program for the temps. Just trying to see what people with my type of config are seeing. Also I am using MX-2 paste since I swapped the AF7 from my old E6420 proc. I know this temp thing has been beaten to death. I just don't recall my E6420 being this high at stock. Also what is the comfortable temp you would recommend? Thanks for your help.

P.S. What is the 71c Thermal Specification that is posted on Intels Website. Does that refer to the Tjunction Temp?
__________________

__________________
Mobo: GA-p35-DS3r
CPU: Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz G0
Video: EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) 670/972 for the Acer 24" Monitor
P/S: Rosewill RP 550-2 Pro
Case: Antec 900
2X HD: SEAGATE 7200.2 320GB
Memory: G.SKILL 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800
Os: Windows Vista Premium 32BIT
Indobos is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

It means dont let your CPU cores get over 71C. The q6600 has twice the cores, thus twice the heat of your old e6420. If you plan to overclock, i suggest saving up and getting a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme. The af7 is good for dual cores, but isnt going to cut it for an overclocked quad.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 306
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

Thanks Veedubfreak. Looks like I will go ahead and put the AF7 back on the E6420 for Wifey and just get myself a 120. Man this upgrade has cost me dern near 1k. Oh can you link me the cheapest place you have seen them. If you don't mind.
__________________
Mobo: GA-p35-DS3r
CPU: Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz G0
Video: EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) 670/972 for the Acer 24" Monitor
P/S: Rosewill RP 550-2 Pro
Case: Antec 900
2X HD: SEAGATE 7200.2 320GB
Memory: G.SKILL 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800
Os: Windows Vista Premium 32BIT
Indobos is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

got mine from here.
Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme
I suggest picking up a scythe-sflex 1600rpm fan and some mx-2 for it. It comes with some thermalright compound, but if you are going for the max overclock, might as well spend a few extra bucks to get the best paste.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 306
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

Thanks. One more question. What do you think about a Tuniq?
__________________
Mobo: GA-p35-DS3r
CPU: Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz G0
Video: EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) 670/972 for the Acer 24" Monitor
P/S: Rosewill RP 550-2 Pro
Case: Antec 900
2X HD: SEAGATE 7200.2 320GB
Memory: G.SKILL 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800
Os: Windows Vista Premium 32BIT
Indobos is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

Its big, its heavy, its loud, and its a pain in the butt to mount. Its not worth saving a few bucks for the hassle it causes.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 306
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

LOL. I installed thisinto my cousins PC and It wasn't too bad. The noise isn't an issue for me at least. But as far as cooling Comparo? Will it do as well as the 120? Sorry to bother but what OC can I expect from the AF7, the Tuniq and the 120?
__________________
Mobo: GA-p35-DS3r
CPU: Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz G0
Video: EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) 670/972 for the Acer 24" Monitor
P/S: Rosewill RP 550-2 Pro
Case: Antec 900
2X HD: SEAGATE 7200.2 320GB
Memory: G.SKILL 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800
Os: Windows Vista Premium 32BIT
Indobos is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 07:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

The Tuniq is a little below the TRUE in cooling performance.

You expect -

AF7 - 3.1GHz
Tuniq - 3.4 to 3.7 range
TRUE - 3.5 to 3.8 range

Get the TRUE like veedub says. It really is one of the best, if not, the best air cooler out there.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 11:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

The tuniq isn't too hard to install after the 3rd time. But ya defiantly go for that TRUE. It just doesn't make sense to buy the tuniq anymore.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 12:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 Temp AF7

If you end up with a good chip, you can break 4ghz with the TRUE.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!? braz Overclocking and Modding 6 02-24-2008 03:59 PM
Q6600 Temperatures wobble_the_ugly New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-24-2008 01:57 AM
af7 from stock cooling taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-27-2007 01:33 PM
Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes? TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 08-09-2007 12:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.