PSU's for SLI - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2008, 10:58 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: PSU's for SLI

I had the Antec 900 and it's sort of.....meh. The Antec 1200 is much better.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 11:02 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: PSU's for SLI

meh?

How much larger is the 1200?
__________________

kbaird is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 11:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: PSU's for SLI

1200: 22.9" x 8.4" x 20.2"
900 : 19.4'' x 8.1'' x 18.4'' (L x W x H)

The 900 is a mid tower and the 1200 is a full tower. The 1200 has a ton of room inside and is worth it if you are into water cooling and SLI or Crossfire setups. Has a lot of air flow as well.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 11:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: PSU's for SLI

Thanks.

Water cooling: not for me.
SLI: yes.....

The cards block hd bays in the 900.

Is it true that with two gtx260's you
can still use any hd bay in the 1200?
kbaird is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 11:46 AM   #15 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: PSU's for SLI

Yeah you shouldn't block any hdd bays with gfx cards in a full tower, but I have no personal experience with Antec 1200 I think if your getting that large a case you should go with a lian li or silverston full tower for the craftsmanship and build quality (but its fairly opinionated as antec makes fine cases I just think lian li and Silverston excel)
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 03:02 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: PSU's for SLI

Thanks to all for your help.

I am going to try the antec 1200
because I do like the antec 900.
__________________

kbaird is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do the fans on PSU's blow in or out? XDRoX New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-07-2008 03:13 PM
Ok GPU's and PSU's????? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-06-2008 05:13 PM
A question on PSU's and Overclocking Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-08-2007 10:02 PM
2 PSU's in a single PC (is it possible?) tedstokes168 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 06-03-2007 01:50 PM
Dual Psu's???? brodieman Overclocking and Modding 28 04-25-2007 03:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.