PSU's. Okay brands? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default PSU's. Okay brands?

Is Powmax an okay brand for PSU's? I need a new power supply. Not because the one I have is broken, but because it's loud as ****, and is generic.

I don't need a whole lot of power. I'd say 350-400 watts is more than enough. My main concern is the NOISE level. It's my room desktop, and I'd like to be able to sleep with it on instead of turning it off at night because of the dull roar coming from the PSU.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

No powmax is crap. What are you running in your system?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

I would suggest Antec, OCZ, forton, pc p&c, enermax (i belive ive seen this mentioned alot ) What is your budget?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Default

One thing is for sure---you can't have too much power. There is no such thing.

OCZ, Enermax, Seasonic, Antec and Thermaltake all make great PSU's. I would suggest at least 480W.

The modular PSU's are not as reliable.

See this chart:

http://www.pcworld.com/howto/article...5,pg,2,00.asp#
__________________
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 01:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Umm i dont think you need to get above 450watts of PSU that is all that should be needed trust me I've built a COmputer with 6800 in sli and it only had 500 watt PSU and it still runs to this day.
Try this caculator is alot better than a chart.
http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Right now I'm only running a 1.8GHz Celeron, with a 9800XT, 1 optical, 1 hard drive. I've had it on as low as a 250W PSU for a few days, and it ran fine.

As for budget, I only want to spend around 40-60 bucks Canadian. I COULD spend more, but I really want to save up for a new processor, RAM, and maybe a new case.

I used the PSU calculator, added up to 248 watts with my current specs, and even with what I'm planning to upgrade to still only uses 308.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 11:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

For that system and budget I would get This Power Supply I am going to get some flamming over this but Ultra makes a pretty good psu as well. I have two ultra V-series and they are super quite.

I have One Of These running a P4 2.6 ghz @3.ghz 800fsb an ATI 9550 256mb 8xagp, two hdd's / two disc drives / 2x 512mb pc3200 DC/ tv tuner / soudnblaster audigy2 / and four extra fan's and it worked fine. I gave it to the wife and kids now but it still works like a champ.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

amper wise that 430w have only 20A on the +3.3V and 18A on the +12v , might be enough for his current system but defintly not good enough for upgrades

i suggest youll up that budget a bit and get this one
http://www.anitec.ca/product/3735/an..._power_supply/
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 03:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Whoa. First I've seen of this Anitec site. It any better than TigerDirect?
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 12:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

I would get what jeremey suggested. They are incredibly quiet
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.