PSU Voltage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2006, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default PSU Voltage

Hi, I just ordered a new video card (Geforce 7800GS, upgraded from a Geforce FX 5200) and I believe I will need a new power supply, however I do not know for sure. I can't seem to find the voltage for my PSU. I opened up my computer to have a look at the PSU and it is no where to be found. How can I tell what the voltage of my PSU is right now? Thanks.
__________________

tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

There should be a sticker or inscribed on teh PSU on one of the sides telling teh Amps/Watts
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Ya, I looked at that and it wasn't on there. Is there any other way to find out the watts?
tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

7800 gs typically needs 20 amp on the 12v rail. forget watts amp is what matters.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

are you 100% sure theres no sticker? maybe its on the psu's other side and you need to open the other side of the case to see it ,
what about searching up the recipe,or looking online at the pc specs if you bought it in one peice , you might find the info printed on a circuit board or some part inside the psu however openning up the psu will void your warranty but if you gonna do it then first unplug from the wall socket also disconnect it from the motherboard and other devices and do not attempt to touch the various componets inside the psu as some of em might still hold electricity so be carefull , anyway if you ask me if it got no sticker its a plain bad sign , whats your full system specs? if youll give em out ill be able to tell you what psu you need
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

My PSU has a sticker on it, but I can't find watts or amps on it (I have looked a couple times), so I don't know if I will even need to upgrade.

I have:

Pentium 4 3.0 GHz Processor
512 MB RAM (I might upgrade to 1 gig though.)
Geforce 7800 GS
I am not sure what motherboard I have, because I have a DELL and I don't remeber exactly what it was.

So from this do you think you can tell what PSU ill need, or do you need more info?
tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

thats intresting , and the model isnt on that sticker? cuz if it is you might be able to find its specs in google

anyway unfortunatly you got a "DELL" , and they use their propretary parts in most cases , your psu might be in a special dell form factor and a new non-dell psu might not fit in your current pc case also ive read in some places that some dell motherboards have the atx pins swapped in order to prevent ppl from using non dell psus also that some have a special 9pin motherboard power connector , i recommend this one
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153028
its a good qualtiy psu from a known & trusted company in the field and its resonably priced

but i recommend youll ask dell first about wether you can use a non-dell psu with no issues
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 08:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Cool and cheap PSU, thanks, and wow I hate DELL. I guess I will check again for the model number.
tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 09:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

an easy way to determind if you can upgrade your PSU. measure you PSU physical dimension. ATX = 6'' height x 3.5" width x 5.5" depth. Mini-ATX = 5" x 3.5" x 5" . MicroATX = 5" x 3" x 4" , Flex ATX is Even smaller than Micro ATX and they are not interchangeable. many branded pc don't make their own stuffs they just assemble other parts together. sometimes you just have to look harder for any marks or logos.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 09:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks, I am going to measure.
__________________

tpacyga is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.