psu safe for overclocking? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2015, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default psu safe for overclocking?

Nearly finished my build, just need an SSD
Btw, my PSU is a corsair vs550, my gpu is a r9 270 and my CPU is an AMD x4 860k (full specs are in my Sig), is it safe to properly overclock both components?
__________________

__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

Yea should be fine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

Oh yea, I got one more problem, my new acer LCD just came today but it had stuck pixels which were mostly fixed during one of those screen flashing videos but there is still one stuck green one right in the middle of the screen

I've been running the video for like 1 and a half hours, is that enough time or is there any other method. I tried the pencil rubber trick but that doesn't seem to do anything.
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

Sometimes there's nothing you can do.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Sometimes there's nothing you can do.
I have a warranty, would they replace it because of one pixel?
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 02:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaka100 View Post
I have a warranty, would they replace it because of one pixel?
Depends ion the warrantee, but most likely not.

It usually states X amount required.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 02:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

you just got the screen why not return it and get another? after all you did received a damaged product.
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 02:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drogos View Post
you just got the screen why not return it and get another? after all you did received a damaged product.
That's true, if it doesn't work by tommorow, I will just return it.
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 02:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Depends ion the warrantee, but most likely not.

It usually states X amount required.
Because of this. Every place is different on dead pixel policy. It all depends on where you got the screen from.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 03:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: psu safe for overclocking?

i don't know how it is on the UK but here in the US most places have a 30 days to return, so i don't play around when i buy something new and it's faulty.
__________________

__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking from 233mhz to 300mhz?? safe or not? aff1993 System Upgrades 15 07-15-2006 04:22 PM
Safe mode issue or dangerous problem with safe mode WTF now ? -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-28-2005 07:54 AM
Safe overclocking for MSI NEO 848p psman Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 03-27-2005 04:08 AM
Safe overclocking without extra cooling? M2k4 Overclocking and Modding 3 03-02-2005 05:46 PM
Is there such thing as safe overclocking? U_X_U Overclocking and Modding 5 07-10-2003 02:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.