PSU question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 11:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

How about just giving us the Brand and Model of your computer.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

Compaq Presario 5320US
__________________

teknikull is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I believe it is a Socket 478, But like the power supply, the motherboard is usally a proprietary fit also. So Good Luck.

I know you probably don't have the money, but if you can't get replacements from the manufacture anymore for a specific model then its usally not worth it to go searching for replacements. Its alot easier to build or buy a new PC, Which could be a good thing in some cases.

You could always scout out ebay or another similar site for spare parts.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

i have a 250W PSU and the grpahics card says thats minimum wit +12V/18A but i only have +12V/5A. is this wise? and the sticker on my PSU says 250W but my comp says 235W whats goin on?
teknikull is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If the GPU came with the Computer then it should be fine, but if you bought the GPU then you should Do have at least its requirements.

The power supply may be a 250 Watt Peak Power supply, your Program may only be showing what it is using right now.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:53 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

will it cut out and stuff if the power supply is at minimum..bcuz 2 reviews said they had 250W PSU and it cut out and lagged bad. ITS EITHER ENDURE THE CUT OUTS OR SELL EVERYTHING AND BUILD A CUSTOM $700 RIG (and I am gonna go for the cheaper option)
teknikull is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 01:00 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

IMO, I would go for the custom Rig. Trying to replace/Upgrade a prebuilts components, just isn't worth it.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 01:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

I dont want to rebuild my prebuilt I JUS WANNA PLAY MY GAME AND NOW ALL THIS STUFF HAPPENED! WAHHH :'(
teknikull is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 02:00 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Yes, Life Sucks. Get used to it. Or not.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 02:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

lol
i think ste has issues
life is great
(as long as ure computer works
also... DONT CRY (lol)
in the end its a game
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.